New guy with questions

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

mjgericke

New guy with questions

Post by mjgericke »

Hello,

I'm interested in competing in air rifle competitions and I've recently purchased a Daisy Avanti 753 rifle. I realize that it's not the best rifle in the world, but it was in a reachable price range. I'm wondering if there is a better sight set that isn't overly expensive that would be a decent upgrade to the diopter peep sight that came with the rifle? I was given a Gehmann 510 Diopter peep, but it doesn't fit. Being that I'm new to the competitive air rifle arena, my knowledge is extremely limited. Could anyone point in me in the right direction? Thanks for your help!

~ Matt
peepsight

New to air rifle shooting

Post by peepsight »

Hi Matt

Go with your Daisy Avanti until you have learned all the basics of 10m air rifle shooting. As for decent sights, i suggest you don't spend too much on the Daisy as i can assure you that if the bug bites you will be looking for one of the German/Austrian match rifles which by the way can often be found second hand if price is a problem.

Check out some of the dealers who carry match grade air rifles and accessories. I also suggest that you get advice from already established target air rifle shooters if you have a club nearby

Peepsight
B.T.Carstensen

Post by B.T.Carstensen »

You can get better sights but I don't think you need them right now because you are new to the sport and that sight set on your gun was used to set the Sporter class national record 573 so get used to you gun before you start to up grade it. I can tell you from experience that when I shot sporter the better sights did not put that many points on my score.

--Brian--
Last edited by B.T.Carstensen on Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

I was given a Gehmann 510 Diopter peep, but it doesn't fit.