Do i NEED to use a blinder?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Ziperix

Do i NEED to use a blinder?

Post by Ziperix »

I’m a beginner but I can shoot with both eyes open just fine without a blinder, the sights are a little bit transparent (I think that’s the best way to describe it) but i’m not seeing two of them as some other people say they do. Is it still beneficial to wear a blinder or will I be fine without it?
JRV

Re: Do i NEED to use a blinder?

Post by JRV »

I use a blinder to prevent eye fatigue and give my brain an easier time. Air pistol matches are pretty short, but it’s still a long time to force your eyes to focus at a short distance (front sight) and mentally tune out the image from your non-dominant eye.

You aren’t seeing the second ghosted sight image because your brain is ignoring it. Whether you’re doing that intuitively or with a little effort, it’s happening. But, that image is definitely being perceived. Close your dominant eye, and you’ll see what that off-axis ghosted image should look like.

An easy blinder experiment is covering a lens with a translucent tape, like a couple layers of scotch tape or a single piece of beige masking tape. That will allow ambient light into both eyes but “turns off” the image from your non-dominant eye. Since there’s no ghosted image, you should be able to shoot with less eye fatigue and mental energy. If you find it easier, a flip-up translucent blinder is a pretty cheap addition to your shooting bag.