Suitable Dot Scope for Ruger Mk III ?

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

frodo9mm

Suitable Dot Scope for Ruger Mk III ?

Post by frodo9mm »

Hello - I have a Ruger Mk III Target 22 LR and want to put a dot scope on it for Bullseye. At age 60 my eyes are struggling with the iron sights.

Question - What are a few decent pistol dot scopes ?

I have a budget but do not want to under or over spend of that matter.

I am new to bullseye. I have shot 3PAR and Service Rifle but am looking at possibly shooting bullseye pistol with a league this winter.

Thank you,
Fletcher
Pitt Willett

Re: Suitable Dot Scope for Ruger Mk III ?

Post by Pitt Willett »

It is a matter of preference but my recommendation would be a regular 1" tube Ultradot with 4 moa dot. I have shot them for years in BE discipline without many problems and their customer support is good. Your Ruger Mk3 probably came with a scope mount and the rings supplied by Ultradot will fit. A tube offers some advantage over panel type sights in that it is less affected by glare when shooting outdoors. As far as cost new it is generally in the middle of the road. Sometimes you can find used ones for sale here or Bullseye forum.
SteveT

Post by SteveT »

Ultra-Dot tube style red dots are extremely common on the bullseye line. 1" are lighter and cheaper. 30mm give a little bigger field of view and more dot options. 20 years ago almost all of the dots were 1" Ultra-dots. Since then lots of different options have appeared, but the 1" UD is still really common. The Four-Dot and Match-Dot offer 4 different dot sizes, but most people are happy with a standard dot size.

Aimpoint Micro and 9000 series are common, especially with the best shooters. They are expensive, but they are very well made and batteries last a really really long time. The 9000 series is too heavy for some shooters. I love my Micros.