pellet materials

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

conradin

pellet materials

Post by conradin »

Anyone knows exactly what is the combination of materials that are used to make pellets? I know it has lead on them. But when I put them under a blow torch, it does not melt as I expected. So much impurity. There must be something else other than lead in it. Here is what I did melting pellets to try to turn it into a back stop. The one inside the heavy silver round tube is the melted pellets fresh from half a can of pellets (RWS), it is my first try. The other two are perfect example of melting lead into a round back stop. Image
Rover

Re: pellet materials

Post by Rover »

Most cast bullets have lead, tin, and antimony.
fc60

Post by fc60 »

Greetings,

If you are really interested, take your ingots to the local metal scrapyard that possess an X-ray analyzer.

Bring donuts or cash to "grease the skids".

I had a friend take a box of my mystery metal to the local yard and they charged him $20.00 USD for five tests.

Cheers,

Dave
atomicgale
Location: Copperhill Tennessee USA (a registered CERCLA superfund site)

Post by atomicgale »

fc60 wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 1:42 pm . . . take your ingots to the local metal scrapyard that possess an X-ray analyzer.
Or take 'em a pickup-truck-load of used catalytic converters . . . then use those proceeds to buy a few tins of pellets & some hooch.

(Appalachian-practicality at its best! Hope this helps!)
Laughing Bear

Post by Laughing Bear »

fc60 wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 1:42 pm Greetings,

If you are really interested, take your ingots to the local metal scrapyard that possess an X-ray analyzer.