Buying Advice: Match or Plinking Pistol

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

powertube

Buying Advice: Match or Plinking Pistol

Post by powertube »

Hey Guys,

I know that I'm posting in a forum about olympic shooting, nevertheless I hope that can get some advices.
I'm rather new to shooting sport and just got the authorization to buy own weapons just one month ago.

In my shooting club we're shooting bullseye 25 meters.
I just trained with the club pistols like Hämmerli 280, Hämmerli 208, Walther GSP, GSP Expert and Erma ESP 85A.
As the Walthers and Hämmerlis are highly frequented by other club mates, I trained with the Erma most of the time.

We're shooting 15 rounds per stage, so maximum is 150 points. On very good days, I get roundabout ~ 125 / 150, but
common result is ~ 110 / 150.

Now it's time to buy an own .22 pistol. As I like the ERMAs handling very much, I already thougt about buying one second hand,
but regarding the bad availability of spare parts for the Hämmerlis and Ermas, I came to the decision to buy a new pistol.

As I have no ambitions to parcipate in competitions in near future, I don't know if I should get a match pistol like the GSP Expert or a plinking pistol
like SW22 Victory or Browning Buck Mark.
So I would like to know what are the main differences between match and plinking pistols? Prices differs for 500-900 € for plinking pistols and roundabout 1600€ for a match pistol like the GSP Expert.
How big is the gap between those guns? Are those plinking pistols are really accurate enough for bullseye shooting?
Rover

Re: Buying Advice: Match or Plinking Pistol

Post by Rover »

Get a Ruger and Volquartsen trigger kit and be happy.
Christopher Miceli

Post by Christopher Miceli »