.45 ACP reloading question

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

Bullseye58

.45 ACP reloading question

Post by Bullseye58 »

For those experienced reloaders out there; I am a newbie reloader and I use a redding carbide expander die. When I measure the brass after the expander die process, it's width is averaging only .470 at the neck. The bullets just barely fit on the neck after expansion. Am I doing something wrong? I reload Winchester brass (once fired). I followed the reloading manual and the redding instructions for setting up the expander die in my Redding T-7 turret press. I know it is important not to over work the brass in this stage of the reloading process, but I don't think I am working it enough. Thanks!
Ernie Rodriguez

45 Expander

Post by Ernie Rodriguez »

Are you giving the shell a sufficient amount of belling???
Bullseye58

Post by Bullseye58 »

I don't think I am, but not sure. I set the die up according to the instructions and reloading manuals. Is there a standard measurement I should be achieving after belling the case?
little_doodie

Post by little_doodie »

agreed.
a general rule of thumb is if it shaves lead its not belled enough.
LD
JamesH

Post by JamesH »

Not familiar with Redding dies so this could be wrong.

The expander is usually mostly straight, with a tapered portion near the top end, this can be barely visible.

The tapered portion puts a slight flare or 'bell' on the case tip.
The expander can be adjusted to control the flare, its usually pretty sensitive, small turns have a big effect.

You're right in that you want the minimum flare to maximise case life, you want just enough belling that you can press the bullet in with your thumb and it will just 'stick' and not shave lead when its seated.
melchloboo

Post by melchloboo »

+1 no shaving you're good to go.
Kirmdog

Post by Kirmdog »