Question about Watching Front Sight During Recoil??

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

larrye44

Question about Watching Front Sight During Recoil??

Post by larrye44 »

I'm new to BE and trying to learn all I can because I'm going broke buying pasters.

I shot in my fourth match last Saturday and had two Master Shooters give me two different versions of what to do during sustained fire. One said watch the front sight (red dot for me due to age and old eyes) during recoil and bring it back to target. Never loose sight of the front sight. The other said not necessary to watch front sight, just hold firm and let your arm naturally come back into position and the front sight will be in target area.

Which is the best way to handle the front sight issue? Sometimes (especially in Rapid Fire) I get rushed because I loose the dot and it takes a second to find it and put it on target. Thanks, everyone. Larry
marvelshooter

Post by marvelshooter »

I go along with the one who said not to try and watch the front sight (dot) during recoil. Find it as soon as you can and do not rush the next shot. Wait till you have it and it is back on target. There IS enough time. And you are hearing this from a longtime Master who will still rush the last shot or two in a string of rapid fire more often than I like.
hill987

red dot

Post by hill987 »

Were on the target are you putting the pasters? that will tell you whats happening. Do you have the filter on the end of the red dot scope? Have you found your natural point of aim?
Isabel1130

Re: Question about Watching Front Sight During Recoil??

Post by Isabel1130 »

larrye44 wrote:I'm new to BE and trying to learn all I can because I'm going broke buying pasters.