45 softball

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

schatzperson

45 softball

Post by schatzperson »

I am new to 45 bullseye; Given today's price of ammo I am thinking of casting and reloading 45 softball ammo.
Can anyone recommend a specific good quality mold design ( rcbs , redding or saeco perhaps) .

Thanks all !
Isabel1130

Re: 45 softball

Post by Isabel1130 »

schatzperson wrote:I am new to 45 bullseye; Given today's price of ammo I am thinking of casting and reloading 45 softball ammo.
Can anyone recommend a specific good quality mold design ( rcbs , redding or saeco perhaps) .

Thanks all !
I believe that any good quality mold will work but you might want to experiment some with shooting different weight bullets and what shoots well in your gun before you invest in a specific mold. It is difficult to make cast bullets shoot uniformly well at the 50 yard line. It can be done but most people who are shooting lead at the 50 yard line are using swagged bullets. If you really want a softball load for sustaine fire I recommend going no bigger than 185 grain. There are an almost infinite vareity of powder/bullet combinations that will shoot well at the short line.
I can offer you some suggestions of what to try if you want to get the least recoil and still have good accuracy. PM me if you would like some load combos. I have already run the gauntlet and settled on what I am going to use both outdoors and in. It took about a year and a half to finally make a decision I could stick with. As I developed as a shooter I learned new things that changed my opinion Isabel

Post by Guest »

Casting and sizing bullets is a large undertaking. There are real health and safety issues with casting lead bullets. There are lots of manufactures of cast bullets - $60-100 / 1000 bullets is about what you'll pay.