Tipping bullets

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

Shooting Kiwi

Tipping bullets

Post by Shooting Kiwi »

I'm new to reloading and am receiving contradictory and inconsistent advice - so I thought I'd ask for more!

I'm loading Lapua .38 Special cases with Lapua 148Gr HBWC, experimenting with loads between 2.5Gr and 3.1Gr Winchester Super Target powder. I've been assured that 2.9Gr works very well. The gun is a S&W model 19, .357 Magnum, 6" barrel, Morini anatomical grip, in good condition, my gunsmith tells me.

Shot with a hand rest, the gun will put all shots well within the 10 ring, although I haven't tested all powder loads. Hand held (single-handed), with no rest, I can't get a tight group, although most will be in the black, but the main puzzle is that perhaps 20% of shots are fliers (some even off the target), with clear evidence of the bullet tipping. Accuracy seems better at the lower end of the load range.

I'm new to revolvers, but am not too bad with standard pistols, so am reluctant to think that all the problem is me.

So the questions are:

Is this load range sensible?

Is it likely to be an equipment or operator problem - or both?

What am I doing to cause bullet instability?

Why is bullet instability sporadic?
Spencer

Re: Tipping bullets

Post by Spencer »

Shooting Kiwi wrote:...Is this load range sensible?
over to those familiar with this powder
Shooting Kiwi wrote:...Is it likely to be an equipment or operator problem - or both?
Unlikely to be an operator problem (though I can remember shooters who claimed to be able to 'make' a topple on demand).
Though the difference between rested and hand-held grouping size suggests a problem exists. If the problem is getting worse it would be interesting to know what results are obtained if you go back to the rest testing.
Shooting Kiwi wrote:...What am I doing to cause bullet instability?
one or more of:
- undersized projectiles
- leading