who has the best high school shooting program

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

hank2222

who has the best high school shooting program

Post by hank2222 »

ok guys tell me who the best high school shooting program in the western united states area
iam looking for a high school that will take a younger shooter in and teach them
she does the 10.meter air rifle standing olympic program
she has all her own gear rifle shooting cloths and other items we need a place to start her on her pathway
what i want is a school that well let her come into there program as a underage shoot and train with them and shoot with them on there program
any info will help
thank you
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

Wow ..... risky topic to reply to, so I'll state I'm a 4-H coach in NM that has run many USAS, CMP and NRA junior air rifle matches, BUT .... I have limited knowledge to what I am going to have you look into......

Strictly speaking, in terms of a high school scholastic program, from what I can see you are going to be looking at JROTC programs (Army, Navy, & MC ... Air Force does not have the experience yet).

If you look into club programs, you have more choices (rifle/pistol clubs, 4-H, etc)

I would suggest that you first go to the CMP website, and look up the past few years of JROTC Western Region championships .... JROTC collectively, and the separate service regionals. Also, check the other national championships ... American Legion, USAMU, 4-H, CMP JO's, etc
Here is a link to get you started:
http://clubs.odcmp.com/cgi-bin/matchRes ... nation=AIR

I know of only a few JROTC programs in my area that will work with a shooter before high school .... and then it is mostly summer shooting camps they will have .... MAYBE if they have some jr-high students in their district too. Here in NM, they have to be kinda careful as they are an "activity" under the NM activities association.