Test Ammo for the Walther SSP???

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

Mil-Dot

Test Ammo for the Walther SSP???

Post by Mil-Dot »

Hi Folks!
I am new to the TargetTalk forum but I am impressed with the amount of good information available on this sight. Anyways, I recently purchased a Walther SSP and I'm trying to find the best "diet" for it. The test fire card (for lack of a better term) from the factory has a quite impressive grouping on it but it did not give the specific ammo used to get such a grouping. It was stamped Lapua, but which one is the question. Does anyone know which Lapua 22LR is used to test fire the Walther SSP?
Thanks
Mil-Dot
GOVTMODEL

Post by GOVTMODEL »

Every barrel and every batch of ammunition are unique. That's why Eley and SK have customer ranges, so shooters can batch test ammunition in their personal gun.

The answer to your question is, it doesn't matter, because you can't get ammo from that lot anyway:-)

Post by Guest »

GOVTMODEL
Thanks for the info.
To test different different ammo I've been doing the following:

1) Clean gun
2) 10 fowling shots
3) 2 x 10 group shots (using rest)
Next ammo

Yesterday I tested

Eley Pistol Match
Eley Pistol EXTR
Eley Target
CCI Green Tag
Wolf Extra Match
CCI Standard Velocity

My best grouping was with the CCI Standard Velocity (but not impressive).

Am I doing this the right way? I'm a High Power Rifle guy just getting into Bullseye shooting. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks, Mil-Dot
Mil-Dot

Post by Mil-Dot »

Sorry, I forgot to sign in above and it listed me as guest.
GOVTMODEL

Post by GOVTMODEL »

I'm not an authority on this, and others may/will have differing opinions; I use the protocol that is used at the Eley Customer Range, which is four, ten-shot groups from each batch being tested.

Since building the new range at Eley they also can give you a composite forty shot group from each batch of ammunition tested.

Richard Ashmore