Single Stroke Pneumatic Match Rifle....

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

skheeb

Single Stroke Pneumatic Match Rifle....

Post by skheeb »

I have a 13 year old who wants to move up to the next level of shooting. He has been shooting a Daisy 953 that needs replaced. Looking for recommendations for a rifle that is single stroke pneumatic. He wants to move out of the sporter class into the precision class. Any suggestions? Would like something under 1k.
WarWagon

Post by WarWagon »

I shot a Feinwerkbau 601 for 2 years or so way back when. I'd imagine you can pick up a fair amount of used single strokes now for under $1000. Just remember that a single stroke is going to limit him should he choose to shoot positions.
skheeb

Post by skheeb »

Limit him in what way. Flexibility. I'm new at this.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

Pneumatic pump guns will make it a bit more difficult to shoot 3-Position events. If he has been shooting a 953 then he will know pretty much what has to be done to pump in all the positions....

With both 3-P and INT'l pumping a gun >> may<< put him at a disadvantage in terms of physical energy that must be expended during the event.

Accuracy is not the issue here .... Compressed gas (CO2 or Air) and the pumps are found that will put one hole in paper all day .... how tired a shooter may get on 60 shot INT'L or 3X events is the factor.

If the shooter is younger (say less than 15), I sure would recommend a compressed gas powered gun .... you may be looking for a used in the $1200-$1500 range
skheeb

Post by skheeb »