coaching instruction

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

gvmnt45

coaching instruction

Post by gvmnt45 »

I need help!
I am currently a coach and have been for 5 years now. Our club is not real big, but we have turned out some fairly good shooters in 3P sporter and precision air rifle.
We have been to Comps at the OTC in Co, we have brought medals home from both NRA Nationals as well as from Jr Olympics.
We also have an adult pistol shooter that was at the Pan American Games and finished very well.
Now for me....

I can only invest so much time to our club and to my shooters. My work takes a lot of time, so free time is very limited.
I would like to learn more coaching techniques and how to fine tune my shooters in order to get them to WORLD Class, but again, my time is limited.
At this point in my life reading or talking to other coaches will have to suffice. Going on and becomming certified is out of the question. Again, time restraints.
I am sure there are many more coaches out there with this same issue.
I have several books "Ways of the rifle" I just picked up the new companion book to WOTF (forgot what it is called) and a few more. We have some videos that were made in Grmany and translated to English on 3P (informative and very entertaining at times).
What I am looking for is more information that is specific to air rifle and air pistol shooting.
Sports psychology and physiology, Sports nutrition, Rifle set up (iris to site length and more), etc. I am not looking for doping testing or info on banned substances at this time. I can download that when I need it. (besides, my kids better not even think about it, or else).

Does anyone know where this information can be aquired? Other than going to Colorado or the NRA for class?

Any help would be appreciated.

Peter Dorn
Head Rifle Coach
Arlington International Air Gun Club Junior Div.
Direct email gvmnt45@sbcglobal.net.
jhmartin