Recruiting new Junior Shooters

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

LRoland

Recruiting new Junior Shooters

Post by LRoland »

I have been coaching rifle and pistol for many years and constantly look for new ways to recruit new juniors. I usually get 2-3 articles per year in our gun club newsletter plus 3-4 press releases to 5 newspapers in our area highlighting junior shooting accomplishments and inviting calls for more information. Calls trickle in but after a year of starting Junior Air Pistol I only have 4 regulars. I am interested in ideas some of you have used to get more kids shooting regularly.
Nicole Hamilton

Post by Nicole Hamilton »

Pizza?
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

We tend to try and recruit shooters from other sports or youth activities - mainly those that do a little bit of shooting. In the UK we tap into the pony club as well as the cub scouts. If you're allowed you could try contacting one or more local schools, offering to teach them shooting.

If you can get a well known shooter to come in and publicise that, that can also help.

Rob.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

I'm a 4-H coach, so it is from that perspective.

Our County has shooting sports project leaders for the county .... not individual club project leaders .... resource sharing and all that.

We put an article in the newspaper about a month , then 2 weeks before our county "Shooting Sports Open House".