New Sporter Rifle

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

coach between schools

New Sporter Rifle

Post by coach between schools »

http://www.airforceairguns.com/sportair.html

Does anyone have these in their program yet?
GaryL

New Sporter

Post by GaryL »

Unless it's aprroved by the National Three Position Council (CMP) we, KS 4H Shooting Sports, unfortunatly, won't use it.

Looks like a nice gun though.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

Ditto for VC4HSS in New Mexico. A 4-H club usually does not have excess funds to spend to try out a new rifle .... we're usually a few steps behind.

I've been hearing about this project for a few years, and it's nice to see a photo.
My $0.02 from the picture
=================
1) Buttpad will probably have to be reworked (some of the adustment holes removed. The rules now say that it has to be fixed in the center position. Where the buttpad is now is not center. If they removed the other holes, then there is no issue (IMO)

2) Appearance ..... hmmmmmm. I'd love to be the mouse on the wall in the committee meeting. Some of those folks like a more "conventional" looking gun.

3) I wonder what the minimum LOP is and how light you could make this. Even an XSV-40 is a bit heavy for my youngest (8-9 year old) shooters. If this was light enough, heck yeah I'd scrimp to get one or two.

4) Cost. 3PARC is touchy about the price point ... The sights appear to be very well made. Can they offer this for under the "catch point"?

5) Hopefully the cocking lever is on the other side.... I'd hate that foregrip to be the cocking mechanism.

Overall .... looks promising....
gvmnt45

new air sporter air rifle

Post by gvmnt45 »

I saw and handled this rifle at the NRA convention in St Louis this year.
I did not get to shoot it though. They had just made the rifle shootable for the show and was no where near a production quality rifle.