A cheap, though good smallbore rifle?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

A cheap, though good smallbore rifle?

Post by Guest »

Alright, I'm getting ready to invest in my first smallbore rifle, but I'm not exactly sure what would be the best to get..

Now, I don't have an excessive amount of money to spend on it, so I'm looking for something cheaper, but will stil perform well, if such a thing exist?

Also, I've been shooting smallbore for roughly two years with rifles that were provided by clubs and such, so I'm not new to shooting or anything.
Snookie

Post by Snookie »

By the way, I created this thread, fogot to login, sorry.
RyanIntershoot

Post by RyanIntershoot »

You won't go wrong with a second hand Anschutz.

Walther and FWB are fine too but parts always seem a little easier to find for Anschutz

I have a Match 54 thats 30+ years old and still shoots well.

A Match 64 or an 1813 / 1913 would be better but more expensive.

Walther KK200 a good rifle too.
TomN

Post by TomN »

You might also consider a Winchester 52, but only if it comes stocked for position shooting. They are good, accurate rifles and parts are abundant, but the standard prone stocks that most of them came with (the international version of the 52D excluded) are absolutely awful for position shooting. In fact, I would put more emphasis on the stock rather than the action for a beginning shooter. Most of your early improvement will come in perfecting your positions and technique, and you'll need a rifle with at least a few adjustments.

Smallbore rifle generally don't "wear out," and anything that has not been abused should serve you well.
Snookie

Post by Snookie »

RyanIntershoot wrote:You won't go wrong with a second hand Anschutz.

Walther and FWB are fine too but parts always seem a little easier to find for Anschutz

I have a Match 54 thats 30+ years old and still shoots well.

A Match 64 or an 1813 / 1913 would be better but more expensive.