Lenght of a barrel extension tube?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

C-son

Lenght of a barrel extension tube?

Post by C-son »

I am about to make a costom-made aluminium barrel extension tube (for a smallbore rifle). I am mainly looking for the "smoother" recoil-effect, rather than the sight extension. I don't want the tube to bee too long and too heavy. On the other hand not too short, since I´ve heard a short tube (100-150mm) may cause "barrel disharmony" at the shot-release. So - any ideas of the ideal lenght of a barrel extension tube? Any research done in this field?
B.T.Carstensen

Post by B.T.Carstensen »

First what kind of barrel length do you have 660mm or 690mm (I am going to assume that you don't have the 500mm barrel) also what kind of rifle do you have.

<>Brian<>
Cson

Post by Cson »

Actually, its a Anschütz 2013/690 (alu).
xcrunner8k

Post by xcrunner8k »

i have a 10" tube on my 690 barrel... i'm no expert in the technical end of it but i think it works great, i've picked up a lot of points with it. only problem is it makes for a long ass gun, though my tube is a two-piece: the mount stays on all the time and the tube itself comes off so the thing fits in the case. i think the most common lengths for the 690 are 8" and 10", at least that's what i've seen. i'm going for both an ideal sight radius and good barrel harmonics, and it works really well for me.

just my .02, sorry i don't know much more about the tech specs, but i bet you'll end up with one around 8-10"...

dan m.
SBarn

Post by SBarn »

You dont need a tube for "smooth" recoil. If your recoil is bad its because of the position, not because of the gun.

Post by Guest »