Unique DES/VO

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
quest guest

Unique DES/VO

Post by quest guest »

Ok, I am completely new to this sport. I am in the process of buying a Unique DES/VO .22 Short pistol. Any and all comments would be greatly appreciated. I also have a big question which may determine if I indeed buy this pistol: Where in the United States can I find parts, and very important, spare magazines? Again, your help would be greatly appreciated.

I also have a Walther OSP and GSP in .22 Short, .32 S&W Long, and .22 Long Rifle; but I know about Earl's Gun Repair as a great source in the U.S.

Post by Guest »

While the Unique is an excellent pistol, what is your intended purpose? I only ask since the 22 short is currently not used much in competition. It is no longer allowed for Rapid Fire. In fact, I believe it's only competitive use right now is NRA 50' gallery course. You could use it for 2700 matches, but it is not terribly competitive, even in a fine pistol like the Unique.
Quest Guest

Unique DES/VO

Post by Quest Guest »

While the Olympics have culled out the .22 Short, the local matches/clubs in my area will still be plugging away, informally of course. Not so much for competition, but a hobby and to talk to folks who have the same interests.

I am too old and set in my ways to put a lot of effort into any precision sport, but young enough to enjoy the thought of it, and the informal shoots are a blast. The pistol is just one of several guns to be gained in a gun trade I am working on; am allowing the other guy about $800 for his Unique, cased, three mags, extra barrel...