Range measurement 10M

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Torn Fibre

Range measurement 10M

Post by Torn Fibre »

I apologise up front and have openly said I am a complete beginner to this amazing sport, having recently acquired my very first ssp IZH 46M, so my question(s) may seem obvious to the initiated and no doubt asked many times before.

I have noticed from photographs, as I have never witnessed a live 10M competition that it would appear that in 10M AP the shooter stands behind a bench or table.

At what point is the 10M measurement defined from the target site, for example is it from the side of the bench the shooter is up against or the other side or does the shooter place his/ her leading foot on a demarcated line?

I used to think it was taken from the muzzle if one wanted to be really precise.

I have attempted a search but to no avail.

Your comments would be appreciated

Cheers Torn Fibre
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

The 10M is from the target to the line at which the shooter stands. The shooters feet must be behind the line.

Full details are on the ISSF website http://www.issf-shooting.org/

Rob.
Mike Taylor

10 m firing line and bench

Post by Mike Taylor »

Note, also, that the bench is to be forward of the firing line (that is, on the target side of the line, not on the shooter's side) by 10 cm. (Rule 6.3.15.2.1)