Continuation of Subconscious, Aiming, etc - Worked vs Didn't

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Ed Hall

Continuation of Subconscious, Aiming, etc - Worked vs Didn't

Post by Ed Hall »

I thought I'd start this new thread, although it is a continuation of others. This will allow for a new title in the forum. I chose to post this in the Pistol forum because that's what I'm shooting.

I seem to already be mentally losing some of the details from yesterday's matches, even though I studied them in great depth throughout the day and during the three+ hour drive back home. That's why we have notebooks, yes? I'm not expecting this to be a long post, but we'll see how involved I get...

Basically, I'll describe what didn't work as I perceived it, what worked from my point of view and a variation on something described in other threads.

More background is probably better brought up first. Yesterday's matches were Conventional (Bullseye) matches which would equate to Standard Pistol, with Slow, Timed and Rapid stages and various calibers from .22 up through .45 caliber Service Pistol (fully loaded 230 grain FMJ and open sights). All the Slow Fire was at 50 yards, while all the rest was at 25 yards. Dots and open sights were used depending on the gun. For the descriptions below, there did not appear to be a difference in results between the guns with different sights. IOW, what worked using the dot, worked with the open sights as well. Obviously, the sight picture and focus was different between the two sighting systems.

Approaches that Didn't Work: