.22 Short ???

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
rolexrifleman

.22 Short ???

Post by rolexrifleman »

Just invested in a Walther OSP (Thanks Pilk!) and now wondering what to feed it. Seems not many .22 short mfg. out there. I bought some CCI 0027 and 0028 since it was all that was around. Will this get me decent groups or is there another mfg. I should be looking at?
Need as much help with this as possible as I am new to the Short!

T.I.A.
H.C.
deleted1

Post by deleted1 »

There are several brands out there as in RWS, Eley etc. If CCI ( hotter than those mentioned) works in the gun then go with it, if it doesn't double in your gun---I would look no further. The other brands are much more expensive---the .22 short has never been awfully popular and did have a following over the years when the Olympic Rapid Fire event helped to develop the popularity of the .22 short. These specialized pistols and the ammo needed, produced a very finicky, cranky combination which led to many alibi runs in competition. When the ISSF rule changed to a "Standard Pistol" ( after 2000) for the event, the .22 short became a round that, already in obsolecense, shows sign it might disappear in a few years.
David Levene

Post by David Levene »

If you do manage to find some decent ammunition then I would buy as much as possible if I were you.

Now that you cannot use 22 short for the Olympic Rapid Fire match there will be fewer and fewer manufacturers making it.
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

I have heard that 22 short is a favoured round for pest control work - so assuming that's correct it will still be produced.

Rob.
Fred

Post by Fred »