righthanded shooter, left eye dominant

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

Albert

righthanded shooter, left eye dominant

Post by Albert »

I know that this subject has been discussed in the past, but as a basic trainer I come across (rifle) shooters who are righthanded, but have a dominant left eye.
What are the known options for correcting this? (apart from placing the sights offset on the rifle - not possible with a standard club rifle that is used by many others, or changing to left handed shooting).
Any advice greatly apreciated!

Albert
(The Netherlands)
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

When I frist started coaching I thought "How common could this be?"
Well I was floored when I found out that is is pretty darn common!

I've been taught to teach for the dominant eye, so even a right hander with a dominant left eye should shoot as a lefty. It turns out, for the most part a shooter has done some compensating in their other life skills so it >>MAY NOT<< be as hard for them as you think it might be.

I've had shooters both in Air Rifle and Archery with this issue, and about 90% are able to shoot with the dominant eye/side ... not that there aren't some issues. Some just refuse and give up.

Note: I've got 2 of my 25 regular shooters that are like this.

If anyone has tricks for that 10% I've not been able to help, please share!
Albert

Post by Albert »

What happens when I block the left (dominant eye) with a blinder and let them aim with their right (not dominant) eye? Does instabillity occur or other disturbing factors? (A headband and a piece of cardboard are very easy to fabricate.... )

Albert
TWP

Post by TWP »

Albert,

For precision rifle shooting you can do it either way. They both seem to work fine.

With my own 2 cross dominant sons I had them shoot from the dominant eye (left) side.