.22 practice ammo and other stuff

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

R.E. Smalley

.22 practice ammo and other stuff

Post by R.E. Smalley »

Hello;

I am new to this forum and I have lots of questions. I am a truck driver now, so it may be a week, or so, before I can check my email again (but it may not!). Thanks in advance for you responses.

I have an IZH-35M. Can I shoot high velocity ammo in it without a problem? I would like to be able to shoot the real cheap stuff for practice.

Should/can I put a set of beafier springs in it before doing this? If so, where can I get them?
(I have heard of frame cracking with High Standards and I do not want to take a chance on problems with my Baikal.)

Does anyone do a trigger job on the IZH-35M? Who/Where? Can anyone do a trigger job on this gun that will not render the grip safety inoperable?

I don't get to shoot much, so I will take what I can get as far as shooting disciplines and matches. What's going on between Pittsburgh and Youngstown, OH? (If replying is going to offend anyone because you may want to mention an off-topic shooting style, such as sillywet, please respond to "Partyrider@pocketmail.com" directly.)

Speaking of High Standards, My father lost the front site on his 7 1/4" fluted model (Trophy or citation, I think, It's got a gold trigger) and can't seem to find a dovetail sight anywhere. He keeps getting a replacement with a reversed blade made to fit a square notch. Can anyone point me in the direction of a reliable parts supply for these? How about someone who knows how to work on them? He's also got a texas Victor that has problems.