Physical training

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

CMiller58

Physical training

Post by CMiller58 »

Hello all!

So I have been shooting for about 9 years now and after a much needed break it's time to get back to work! So the question I have is what are some ways you physically train? I am a power lifter and know this is not good for this sport. So if any of you could share some helpful work out schedules or exercises? Thank you!

Cory Miller
william

Re: Physical training

Post by william »

I'm pretty sure Rover will recommend regular lifting of one-liter containers that become a little lighter with each lift.

My preference is for pints. I've also found that slow lifts of 1.5 ounces shortly before a match can be of value. I believe it was Doc Young who coined the phrase "group tightener."
TenMetrePeter

Post by TenMetrePeter »

Any aerobic exercise. Run swim cycle basketball...
Rover

Post by Rover »

It's true, William. That's my recommendation. It's called "eine Maß". Mmm!

It appears we're in total agreement. Now, we'd be good if we could get the rest of these putzes on board.
m1963

Post by m1963 »

Greetings- we continue to be amazed at how different sport skills cross, and compliment, each other. We play ice hockey 2-3 times a week (yes, we know it is summer in North America). While working on our wrist shot last night we focused on the sweet spot of the stick's blade, and repeatedly shot the puck with very accurate results. We were reminded that pistol shooting and puck shooting are the same thing, using different tools.

Each sport has a set of skills that can translate and develop the other's skill set. Pick the exercise that works for you.