Bulged barrel of my SIG Hämmerli P 240

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

astigmat2000

Bulged barrel of my SIG Hämmerli P 240

Post by astigmat2000 »

Hello to all,
I introduce myself. Im French and I live in Brittany next to the Atlantic, the westerner part of continental France. I'm 62 and retired from a great French military industry company. I've been shooting for 30 years now.
A couple of months back, I purchased a second hand SIG Hämmerli P 240 in .38 WC. Last Tuesday, once back home after a shooting session in my club while I dismantled my pistol to clean it, I noted a bulge in the barrel.
That gun was discontinued in 1977. I'd be happy to manage to fix it but I cannot find any spare here in Europe. Therefore I'm knocking all the doors I can find to try to find a solution.
I still can use the gun because I've also got the .32 SWL conversion...
Any advice, help would be highly appreciated.
Many thanks. You'll find a picture of my artwork as well.
Greetings from France.
Jacques
Attachments
My artwork
My artwork
hundert

Re: Bulged barrel of my SIG Hämmerli P 240

Post by hundert »

I heard this happens when a bullet gets stuck in the barrel and then you fire another one. This (I heard) happens often to people who load their own ammo and don't load with enough gun powder (by mistake). Another would be using .357 in a .38 gun, I'm not sure it's physically possible though since I've never owned either calibers.
jenrick

Post by jenrick »