Should I learn to shoot pistol or rifle?

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

mwhc00

Should I learn to shoot pistol or rifle?

Post by mwhc00 »

I am a newbie (late 30s) and wanting to shoot but not sure to start with pistol or rifle? Any ideas which to choose?
ChipEck

Re: Should I learn to shoot pistol or rifle?

Post by ChipEck »

Pistol is much harder, but I enjoy it much more than F-Class (rifle) or trapshooting (shotgun). It does not hurt that carrying pistol gear to matches is MUCH easier compared to rifle, because of all the associated equipment a rifle can require.

Chip
dronning

Post by dronning »

I'm with Chip on this. I shoot all three (shotgun - trapshooting & sporting clays, Rifle - XTC & Garand matches) but enjoy Bullseye (now officially called Precision) Pistol the most.

Check out the clubs around you and find out what is offered.

- Dave
Certified Safety Instructor: Rifle & Pistol
They that give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
~ Ben Franklin
GaryN

Post by GaryN »

Whichever one YOU WANT to shoot.

I shoot both AP and AR.
I primarily shoot AP, because that is what I WANT to shoot.
I shoot AR when want a break from shooting AP.

Well the other reason is my waistline is not stable, and that would make it EXPENSIVE to be getting new rifle shooting outfits when the old outfit does not fit.
Pheyden

Post by Pheyden »

The basics learned from pistol training are easily enough applied to rifle, with a few amendments.