Shooting Lenses

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
william

Shooting Lenses

Post by william »

Disclaimer: I'm not an engineer, physicist, optician.... WI am a wearer of eyeglasses for over 60 years, a competitive shooter for nearly 20, an avid experimenter, and a firm believer in the value of empirical results.

The result of more than a little time and money spent with cooperative, understanding optometrists and opticians is that Your Results May Vary. The formula for pistol may very well state +0.75, but my experimentally derived optimum combination of clear front sight and unclear bull is +1.25.

Over the years I've developed what I think is a reliable, repeatable test procedure which I'm happy to share with anybody who asks via PM.

I'm posting this here and in the Shooters Lounge. No offense if a moderator decides it should be in one only and removes one.
Silvershooter

Re: Shooting Lenses

Post by Silvershooter »

but my experimentally derived optimum combination of clear front sight and unclear bull is +1.25.
Exactly the same for me, I use +1.25 . Discovered this by accident when trying my computer glasses (+ 1.5) for shooting, found they were better than the +.75 shooting lens. So had the optician make me a lens a step down for shooting.
+.75 on distance prescription gives me a very clear target.

Yes, please pm me your test procedure.
Robbie01

Post by Robbie01 »