Grip Modifications?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Mtl_Biker

Grip Modifications?

Post by Mtl_Biker »

I'm relatively new to match pistols (with a Steyr EVO-10) and my medium right-hand grip seems to fit me properly. But everyone I meet seems to have modified their grips, either filing parts off or adding wood filler, to make them fit their hand better. I ask how you would know if modifications could help and they answer that with experience you'll know. SIGH

And I'm reluctant to start mucking around with my grip in fear of ruining it and maybe not even improving it.

Are there any methods you could suggest for determining if the grip is right for you? (I wish there was a softer putty-like material copy of the grip that you could hold and squeeze and then look at the putty to see if there are any high or low spots, but there doesn't seem to be.)

I've now got over 15,000 shots through my pistol and figure it's time to start looking for small tweaks/improvements I could make.

Any suggestions?
AA S510 Xtra FAC Ultimate Sporter *CARBINE* .22
CZ200S "Green" .177
Feinwerkbau 800 Evolution Top
AA S400 MPR FT .177
Steyr EVO 10
Weihrauch HW50S .22
siordian1

Re: Grip Modifications?

Post by siordian1 »

I use Loctite fun-tak. You can order it on-line or pick it up at wal-mart. It will harden but not to a solid, you can still move it around if need be.
Gwhite

Post by Gwhite »

You can certainly experiment, but I wouldn't get overly cranked about it. The two important factors are: