Suction Cup Iris for Glasses?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Mtl_Biker

Suction Cup Iris for Glasses?

Post by Mtl_Biker »

I'm quite new to shooting match pistols and doubt if I'll ever be particularly competitive, although I am having a lot of fun with it. I wear progressive eyeglasses, which probably is somewhat of a handicap.

Someone told me about an adjustable iris that attaches to regular eyeglasses with a suction cup (like the "Merrit Optical Attachment" https://www.meritcorporation.com/products.html). Do any of you have experience with such a device? Is it worthwhile? Does it really help?

Thanks
AA S510 Xtra FAC Ultimate Sporter *CARBINE* .22
CZ200S "Green" .177
Feinwerkbau 800 Evolution Top
AA S400 MPR FT .177
Steyr EVO 10
Weihrauch HW50S .22
Rover

Re: Suction Cup Iris for Glasses?

Post by Rover »

Spend the money instead on a prescription cheap pair of glasses set up for shooting. In other words, your distance scrip plus +0.50 to pull your focus to the front sight. That will take care of your astigmatism, too.
Owl

Post by Owl »

Yes, those devices do help, but they are very fiddley. Fiddling with the aperture diameter, fiddling with the location of the device on your glasses, fiddling with the wretched suction cup technology, fiddling with the exact position of your head - fiddle, fiddle, fiddle, fiddle. I'd be inclined to follow Rover's advice.
stephen_maly

Post by stephen_maly »