Right hand air rifle for left hand shooting (FWB 601)

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Robby

Right hand air rifle for left hand shooting (FWB 601)

Post by Robby »

Hi!

I am a newbie who is looking of a good used SSP match air rifle. I shoot left handed (due to my dominant eye) though i am naturally right handed.
My question is whether i can use a right handed air rifle (used FWB 601s are in my price range) for left handed shooting?

Are there any issues other than discomfort (loading/cocking) for practicing at home?

Since there are lot more choices with RH than LH in the market (i guess that would translate to resale value too when i upgrade i future) i would like to explore this possibility.

My advance apologies if this is a 'duh' question.

Thanks for your time!
Robby
mikeschroeder

Post by mikeschroeder »

Hi

If you are left eyed, by all means shoot left handed. Practice A LOT to get used to holding the rifle. You don't really mention how experienced you are right now. If you're just starting out, I would by an ambidexterious gun like a Daisy 888. Don't buy a pneumatic if you're serious about this, you have to lose position every time you shoot it.

The Avanti Valiant and Daisy 888 are both good sporter guns. The 888 cocks from the right side, but it's easy enough to do left handed. The stock itself is ambidexterous. I would avoid the Crosman 2000. Looks mean, but we have a lot of trouble with our two.

I'm sure that there are other ambidexterous guns out there, but I have experience with those three.

Mike
Wichita KS

Post by Guest »

mikeschroeder wrote:If you are left eyed, by all means shoot left handed.