Looking for a beginner .22 rifle.

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

thefunvee

Looking for a beginner .22 rifle.

Post by thefunvee »

Hello,

Im just starting out in 50m prone rifle and am looking for a good rifle for a beginner. Im looking for something I can use for serious competition, and something I can use for a while before I have to start looking at the more expensive rifles, as I have been told that with there's a certain point when the rifle starts to hold you back, regardless of your skill. I have been recommended to take a look at the Kimber 82 government, Anschutz 64, or an Anschutz in the 14 series, though im not entirely sure which one I should consider. Are Winchester 52's worth looking at? I've heard they are no where near the Anschutz and similar rifles. Are there any other rifles that you would recommend that are better for a comparable price? Longevity of use and accuracy are my two main criteria.

While we are on the topic of rifles, what sights should I use? Are sights the same way as rifles, where at a certain point they start to hold you back? I know there are a plethora of sights out there. Any recommendations on that front?

Thank you in advance!
Tim S

Re: Looking for a beginner .22 rifle.

Post by Tim S »

The funvee,

Firstly, I'm assuming you're looking for a used rifle, not brand new.

If you can find/afford an Anschutz Match 54, that's your best bet. These are accurate, comfortable, and durable rifles. Anschutz no longer dominate Olympic level shooting, but a Match 54 in good condition is still a great choice for a beginner. This thread gives a more detailed view of the various models, and what to look for when buying: http://www.targettalk.org/viewtopic.php ... ilit=bulge. Personally I'd go for a 1980s 18xx rifle, as spares are still available, but the older 14xxx 54s are good.