Complete Noob

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

rally2xs

Complete Noob

Post by rally2xs »

Complete noob to "Olympic" anything, but interested in competing in 10 meter men's air rifle. Many questions.

First, the USA Shooter list of matches shows the closest matches to my Virginia location to be Columbus, Indiana. That's about 12 - 14 hours of driving. I'm guessing that there are matches much closer but of a "local" nature rather than "Championship" nature. The questions are, is that right and if so, how do I find them?

Second, am I barking up the wrong tree? As an adult shooter choosing air rifle competition, I seem to get the idea that it is only for kids. I can't find anywhere that the NRA has adult shooting competitions, for instance, as everything is "junior." USA Shooter has their adult shoots at Columbus, Indiana, but not yet finding matches closer than that. Still haven't figured out anything from DCM besides "Port Clinton, Ohio" and "Anniston, Alabama." I'm in Virginia. Big drives. I want to shoot air rifle both because I can easily do it in my garage, any time I want, without violating any laws or annoying neighbors with noise, and because 1000 rounds of supposedly match grade (the advertisement said) ammo for air rifle is $23, and 1000 rounds for match grade .223 would be about $470. I expect that if one is serious, 1000 rounds probably goes buy pretty quickly. This is my interest in "air rifle."