Air Rifle Silhouette

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

trlrider

Air Rifle Silhouette

Post by trlrider »

Morning all! Name is Louis and new to the the forum.
My son is in 4-H Shooting Sports and I am a multi-discipline coach in 4-H. Also active in CMP and NRA competition.

Question:
What air rifle is everyone using for silhouettes? And I may have to qualify with, in Texas 4-H we are not allowed any rifle with a pistol grip/AR style appearance stock! And we are still waiting for the rules revisions.

Having looked at springers, inert gas and PCP rifles for just silhouette competition, it seems currently there is no perfect solution.
Most PCP guns will not fire 40 accurate shots without being recharged, and springers and inert gas guns have their own set of issues when dealing with younger (smaller frame) shooters.
CO2 is not a solid option in South Central Texas due to the hot humid days here. I have seen some shooters immediately change cartridges after each bank of 10!

Looking forward to the discussion!

Thank You,

Louis
Jslaughter

Re: Air Rifle Silhouette

Post by Jslaughter »

A challenger turned up a little bit with a decent scope able to focus at close distance will do fine it will get 40 shots. This no pistol grip "AR" style stock is getting ridiculous the rule was any commercially manufactured air rifle up to .25 just 2 years ago. Texas 4h is too worried about what some one might say. As far as anyone knows there is not anyone complaining about precision rifles looking like ar15's.
Shooterer

Post by Shooterer »

If you are talking about the Silhouette shooting that includes trying to hit a bunch of stupid metal targets that jump out of your projectiles way when they see it coming, you will want to go here for a wealth of knowledge:

http://www.steelchickens.com/forums/

The air rifle of choice over at that site is the Air Arms TX200 springer. (not the carbine)