silhoutte guns?? Crosman 1701??

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

bhollar

silhoutte guns?? Crosman 1701??

Post by bhollar »

My son is going to 4H nationals in air pistol this year. I'm somewhat new to air pistol. We are trying to get him something reasonably priced to shoot silhouette's with. He shoots slow fire with a avante 747. Does anyone know something about the Crosman 1701 Silhouette? Or a repeater for timed and rapid better than the cheap crosaman plastic revolver or spending $2300 on a steyr LP50.
I would appreciate any information I can get.
jhmartin

Re: silhoutte guns?? Crosman 1701??

Post by jhmartin »

We had a shooter many years ago win the air pistol shooting:
40 - Tau-7
RF - One of the Crosman Revolvers
SIL - Tau-7

One of my concerns with the 747 in silhouette is the velocity. even w/ light pellets ... have not tried that on the Rams ... may be OK.
The Crosman revolver still has a rifled barrel I think ... as long as you keep BBs out of it, it should shoot fine.

A note here --- the Rapid event has changed ... it is more like a USA Shooting 22 sport pistol event with turning targets ... check the event synopsis and look over the 7sec ready and 3sec fire times....

If you end up going a PCP route, use that in the 40 and silhouette as most shoot the heavier pellets just fine.
bhollar

Post by bhollar »

Thank you!!
As far as a silhouette pistol have you ever have any experience with the Crosman 1701P?? It is a pcp pistol.
If he uses the 747 for slow and the crosman revolver for timed and Rapid? Providing they still have it. He can shoot good scores with the revolver. It's just the silhouette that he really needs something is a little better. Last year at state he shot silhouettes with his crosman 757 revolver with a red dot. Did only OK.
I know at Nationals he will be shooting aganst kids with olympic quality pistols. I just what him to have a chance.