4H competition muzzlelaoder

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

4hmatt

4H competition muzzlelaoder

Post by 4hmatt »

New Jersey is looking into doing muzzleloader at nationals this year. Relatively new in this disapline. Does anyone have an idea of a good firearm to use in the Muzzleloading competition. Can you get by with just one or do you need two different? Thanks for any info you can give.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

Qualification to my post here: I'm an air rifle coach & smallbore rifle coach.
======
While I've played with the muzzle loaders we have I think the first thing you are going to run into is that the newer "modern" rifles will shoot the conical bullets very well .... while it's not impossible, to get these fast twist barrels to shoot the 4-H required round balls, it takes a LOT of work developing the correct loads that are different for every gun.
A great article that is a good starting point is here:
http://www.whitemuzzleloading.com/myweb ... st_twi.htm

If I was to think about fielding a ML team, I almost think I would find a replica with a slow twist barrel optimized for those round balls. This would also take you to a caplock as well I think.
Other than building a custom type modern "409" primed gun with a slow twist bbl.

===========
Personally, I cannot for the life of me get my 409 primed fast twist to shoot roundballs for nothing. I can shoot FANTASTIC groups with saboted copper slugs (Barnes), even to 100 yds --- but my shooters think it's funny to watch me shoot a roundball out of the gun ... just a big spiral watching the patch burn and smoke downrange.

As I've said ... some can get the newer guns to work with rounds ... me not even close to being patient enough to try this more
Chas10x

Post by Chas10x »