Match Awards for Juniors and NCAA Eligibility?

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

Orpanaut

Match Awards for Juniors and NCAA Eligibility?

Post by Orpanaut »

I am trying to get my children involved in competitive shooting and I am wondering if anyone here is familiar with what sort of awards a junior can receive while still remaining eligible to eventually compete at the collegiate level.

More specifically, I am wondering...

1) Does it matter whether awards are in the form of money or NRA award points?

2) Would awards from one shooting sport, like NRA Conventional Pistol, impact eligibility for another, like ISSF Sport PIstol?
PaulB

Post by PaulB »

First, this is to the best of my knowledge. I am a college coach but not an NCAA coach. Also, over the years the rules have changed several times.

The NCAA rules only apply to those schools that recognize shooting as a varsity sport at their school. The rifle schools can be found in this table:

http://fs.ncaa.org/Docs/stats/rifle/TeamAgg2-12.pdf

Some schools are listed more than once since they may have a men's team, a women's team and/or a mixed team.

A couple schools have varsity pistol teams and maybe a couple have varsity shotgun teams.

If you shoot at a school that has a non-varsity team, or club team, then the NCAA rules do not apply.