Air rifle biathlon

For those who like shooting in the snow

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Craig1956

kentek

Air rifle biathlon

Post by kentek »

I am a total newbee to biathlon and I am considering the purchase of an air arms biathlon rifle for practice.

My question is can I use this rifle on a 50meter range and successfully hit the target?
Levergun59

Post by Levergun59 »

You can't shoot an air rifle outdoors at 50 meters and hope to hit the target with any kind of confidence when any wind kicks up. A 22 is a 40 gn bullet at a speed of 1080fps and it is affected by wind at 50 meters. Your air rifle is an 8gn pellet propelled at 560-800fps with a ballistic coefficient of a rock. You are better off shooting 10 meter air rifle targets indoors for practice or better yet shoot 3p smallbore indoors at 50ft. The 10 ring for 50' indoor is the size of the period at the end of this sentence. When you shoot in the 90's standing in 3P, those 50 meter biathlon targets will look like the Graf Zeppelin.
Chris
Shooterer

Post by Shooterer »

Levergun59 wrote: When you shoot in the 90's standing in 3PChris
Sir, you owe me a new keyboard. I just spit my coffee all over it.
Levergun59

Post by Levergun59 »

LOL Shooterer,
Kid just finished 4th at Junior sectionals. He set new personal bests in smallbore and air rifle. But he left a lot on the table also. Lots of room for improvement. He is trying to work on two fronts. Conditioning: he skied a 5k race on wednesday and will ski today. Shooting: 1/2 an hour standing practice in front of the refrigerator every night he doesn't shoot or ski. He shoots a 60 round standing air rifle practice on Saturday and a 3-4 hour practice with the smallbore rifle on Sunday. He is earning every point and closing in on everybody.
Chris
mavericksr71

Better Option

Post by mavericksr71 »