Walther GSP .22 shooting high at 50 ft

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

DESman

Walther GSP .22 shooting high at 50 ft

Post by DESman »

Hello;
My two sons have appropriated the pair of Unique DES 69 (main gun & backup gun) that I have been shooting for 25 years, so I bought myself a pair of Walther GSP. Ended up taking one in .22 and one in .32 to have maximum versatility. Great guns, and it is great shooting “seriously” with my sons!

But... At the indoor 50 ft range, I cannot adjust the GSP .22 to shoot 10’s with a 6 o’clock hold. I end up grouping at the 12 o’clock edge of the black despite having the rear sight at the lowest possible setting. With the .32 I am lucky, the lowest rear sight setting gets me just in the 10. I already have the spec. 9.6 mm high front sight (the tallest Walther makes) that apparently comes standard on the guns shipped to the US, and I talked to Earl at http://www.carlwalther.com/gsp.htm about a front sight shim. Walther discontinued them!

For context, this is not a novice shooter aiming issue. I have been shooting ISSF and NRA for over 25 years and I typically shoot 95+ in .22 slow fire. I never had any problem shooting the DES 69 at 50 ft using a 6 o’clock hold, the rear sight has a wide enough adjustment range.

I know that the GSP is designed to shoot at 25 m, and I know that at 50 ft the .22 bullet is still rising, but I cannot be the only guy shooting 50 ft with a GSP and a 6 o’clock hold, hence this is probably a common issue (?).

Do you guys have this problem? What solution have you found?
Bill Treanor

Post by Bill Treanor »

I think the easiest solution would be to make your own shim for the front sight. All you need to do is to trace the outline of the front sight on a piece of aluminum can, cut it slightly smaller than the outline (so it won't stick out), and then drill a small hole for the screw.