Rapid Fire Series with a 45

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

Brian James

Rapid Fire Series with a 45

Post by Brian James »

Brian

I am new to NRA BE shooting, but not new to BE shooting - I shoot more Free Pistol and Air Pistol. I am finding the Rapid Fire portion of the NRA matches to be quite challenging from a recoil mgt standpoint with a 45. My problem may be in the pistol as it’s a near stock 1911 GI pistol, with a fitted bull barrel and target sights. It maybe that I’m so used to shooting 22lr in the ISSF events that shooting the 45 is a “shock”. My slow fire scores and group are good, and my Timed can be as good as my Slow fire, but not always.

I am curious to know if top shooters are adding addition weight to the gun to reduce muzzle flip, or simple when they add a scope and mount the addition weight reduces muzzle flip. Do the recoil mgt devices really make a difference?

I’m open to all suggestions,

Brian
Steve Swartz

Post by Steve Swartz »

. . . start moving the trigger as the sights/dot approach your aiming area . . .

Don't worry about "aim" or trying to get "settled."

As a great coach and champion of this sport (Don Rupp) used to (probably still does!) tell new shooters about the trigger in sustained fire:

"GIT ON IT!"

Steve
GOVTMODEL

Re: Rapid Fire Series with a 45

Post by GOVTMODEL »

Brian James wrote: I am curious to know if top shooters are adding addition weight to the gun to reduce muzzle flip, or simple when they add a scope and mount the addition weight reduces muzzle flip. Do the recoil mgt devices really make a difference?

I’m open to all suggestions,

Brian
While I'm hardly a top shooter, "recoil management devices" are pretty rare in Bullseye. Make sure your Natural Point of Aim is aligned with the target, and keep the trigger moving!
harryreeves

RF with 45

Post by harryreeves »