.38 Super?

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

jr_roosa

.38 Super?

Post by jr_roosa »

I'm new to the sport, and I've seen .45, .38 special, and maybe a .32 being shot bullseye. It looks like several 1911 manufacturers have .38 super models that would be as easy to set up for bullseye as any other 1911.

So, does anybody shoot .38 Super?

Is there a reason for not shooting it, or is it just historical?

Thanks.

-J.

Post by Guest »

38 super is more so used in IPSC and IDPA,,,,,,,it was used there to make "major". Not sure that you will get "bullseye accuracy " out of a super.
FredM

Post by FredM »

.38 Super is a high pressure, high velocity cartridge. I don't know how well it would do loaded to lower velocity to reduce recoil. If you want to use a .35" bullet. why not use the 9mm Luger cartridge. Many 1911 design pistols are made for that cartridge and I believe that some fairly accurate loads have been developed.
jr_roosa

Post by jr_roosa »

I'm still confused. Tell me if I'm getting this right...

The .38 special and 9mm are usually loaded to a lower velocity than the .38 super. Therefore it's easier to make an even lighter target load for them that will still cycle the action. Is that the idea?

Even though the .38 super case is halfway between a .38 special and a 9mm, it's much less convenient to make a bullseye gun and target loads for the .38 super since you can get a softer recoil with the other two and still have a reliable gun.

Is that about right?

I guess that the practical shooters like it for the same reason it won't work well for bullseye...it has more energy than the .38 special or 9mm, but less recoil than a .45 or .357.

I was thinking about it the other way around and wondering why it would be popular in practical shooting but nowhere to be found on the bullseye line.

Thanks.

-J.
jr_roosa

Post by jr_roosa »