CNN Shooting Article

old, good http://www.midcoast.com/~pilkguns/bbs/

Moderators: rexifelis, pilkguns

LarryW

CNN Shooting Article

Post by LarryW »

I just spotted this article on CNN.com about pistol shooting. It's about Mark Rogers and his Olympic aspirations. I'm just a beginner here, but it seems to me that the facts are a little bit messed up. That's probably typical for news articles. Here's the link.
CNN Article
http://www.cnn.com/2004/US/Central/01/2 ... index.html
lrw-at-bitplayer.net.48436.0
billb

Re: CNN Shooting Article

Post by billb »

Maybe I missed something but what is wrong with the article. Lots of shooters practice in their homes with air guns perfectly safe with the proper back drop and target traps.
billandnicki-at-charter.org.48442.48436
Len

Post by Len »

"It fires small pellets propelled by a burst of air, so it won't leave any holes in his walls. "
Really it fires pellets via a burst of air because it's an air pistol, and that's his competition.
f read the way it's written, it sounds like he uses an air pistol in his house so he won't shoot through the sheetrock, which anyone that has ever missed a backstop knows...air pistols will dammage sheetrock no problem.

LarryW

Post by LarryW »

: Maybe I missed something but what is wrong with the article. Lots of shooters practice in their homes with air guns perfectly safe with the proper back drop and target traps.
I don't believe the current shoot is part of the Olympic trials (part 1 was held in September, part 2 is scheduled for May/June). I don't see Mark Rodger's name on the results for part 1 (go to USA Shooting and the Results section) so I suspect he is refering to the 2008 Olympics and beyond. The part about the top ten advancing from the current 3X Championship to Ft. Benning for the finals seems completely wrong. Maybe one of the shooters who is more involved in this process will set the record straight.
lrw-at-bitplayer.net.48445.48442
Bob

Post by Bob »