When starting out in rifle shooting why standing first (inst

old, good http://www.midcoast.com/~pilkguns/bbs/

Moderators: rexifelis, pilkguns

pdeal

When starting out in rifle shooting why standing first (inst

Post by pdeal »

When I started shooting they always started jrs in prone progressed through the positions and ended at standing. It is my understanding that now after getting used to the rifle on a rest shooters are moved directly to standing. I can't find the rational for this anywhere. Can someone explain this to me?
pdeal-at-mylanlabs.com.40772.0
Pete W

Re: When starting out in rifle shooting why standing first (

Post by Pete W »

: ...<snip>...shooters are moved directly to standing...<snip>... explain ...?
The standing position is the most inherently natural position in which to hold a rifle. Walk through a gun shop and watch people examining the rifles. they pick them up and put them to their shoulders, they do no lie down with them, even where the floors are sufficiently clean to allow such behavior. Rifles were designed to be shot from the shoulder, standing. By starting in this position there is less that needs to be learned about the positon, and more attention can be paid to the sight picture and trigger control.
Further, which position usually leaves the greatest number of points remaining to be harvested by those willing to do the extensive training required? Standing. Being the least stable, with the least ground contact, the scores tend to be lower. Therefore, by emphasizing training in this postion, hopefully, the scores from this position will be higher.
Yes, it is the lest stable and the most difficult, and returns the lowest scores for the beginner, but for those same reasons, it should be the target at which you aim the greatest effort.
CWells4638-at-aol.com.40774.40772
JP O'Connor

Post by JP O'Connor »

All very good reasons. Others: